bicyclinginfo.org  :  part of the pedestrian and bicycle information center
sitemap about us -> goes to pbic website links join email list ask us a question
  search     go to walkinginfo.org
outreach and promotion news bicycling crashes policy and planning rails and trails research and development transit image libraryinsight health and fitness education and enforcement design and engineering community problems and solutions
  home > education & enforcement > enforcement issues & programs

::  Law Enforcement and Bicycle Safety
  Intro | Common beliefs | Officer Training | List of instructors | Conclusion




NHTSA 2003 Instructor Training Participants (By State)
Updated 02-25-04

Jump to a State: CA | CO | CT | FL | IL | KS | MI | MO | NY | OR | PA | TX | UT | WA | WV | WI


September 30 - October 2 October 13-15 November 18-20
Mid-America Regional Council
600 Broadway, Suite 300
Kansas City, MO 64105-1554

Contact:
Aaron Bartlett
Bike/Ped Trans. Planner
(816) 474-4240
abartlett@marc.org

New York State Thruway Authority
Albany Division Bldg. #1
200 Southern Blvd.
Albany, NY 12201-0189

Contact:
Mark Phillips
(518) 471-5065
(518) 422-0958 (Pager)
MPhillip@troopers.state.ny.us

University of California - Davis
3201 Hart Hall
Davis, CA 95616-8724

Contact:
David Takemoto-Weerts
Bicycle Program Coordinator
(530) 752-2453
dltakemotoweerts@ucdavis.edu


Officers Trained = 25 States Represented = 16 NHTSA Regions Represented = 10

California (NHTSA Region IX)
Sgt. Dennis Ball
Fresno Police Department
2323 Mariposa
Fresno, Ca. 93721
(559) 621-6107 (Office)
(559) 764-2000 (Pager)
(559) 349-2982 (Cell)
(559) 266-1876 (Fax)
dennis.ball@fresno.gov
Dennis.Ball@ci.fresno.ca.us

California
Gary McLaughlin
Sacramento Police Department
5770 Freeport Blvd., Suite 100
Sacramento CA 95822-3516
(916) 264-5471 (Dispatch)
(916) 264-8290 (Bike Locker)
(916) 433-0707 (Fax)
garymcbike255@aol.com
California
Cpl. Clint Sandusky
Riverside Community College Police
4800 Magnolia Avenue
Riverside, CA 92506
(909) 222-8888 (Office)
(909) 222-8171 (Dept.)
(909) 328-3556 (Fax)
Clint.Sandusky@rcc.edu
Colorado (NHTSA Region VIII)
Christopher A. Rivera
Arvada Police Department
8101 Ralston Road
Arvada, CO 80001-8101
(720) 898-6800
shrrivera@comcast.net
top  
Connecticut (NHTSA Region I)
Officer Ronald Jenkins
C/O Groton City Police Department
295 Meridian Street
Groton, CT 06340
(860) 445-2451 (City of Gorton)
(860) 445-2451 (Main Desk)
(860) 446-4157 (Office)
(860) 448-1962 (Fax)
jenkinsr@yurservice.com
Florida (NHTSA Region IV)
Daniel E. Ganzel
Palm Beach Sheriff’s Office
3228 Gun Club Road
West Palm Beach, FL 33406
(561) 688-3000 (Work)
(561) 432-4723 (Fax)
(561) 248-9736 (Cell)
BikeDeputy1@aol.com

Illinois (NHTSA Region V)
John Hanke
Joliet Police Department
150 W. Washington
Joliet, IL 60432
(815) 724-3124
(815) 724-3289 (Fax)
crimeprevention@jolietcity.org
Illinois
Hawk, Christopher
University of Illinois Police Department
1110 W. Springfield Ave.
Urbana, IL 61801
(217) 333-1216
(217) 244-1979 (Fax)
Hawk1@uiuc.edu
Illinois
Raimond Ranne
Chicago Police Department
3510 S. Michigan
Unit 132 - Preventative Programs/Neighborhood Relations
Chicago, IL 60653
(312) 745-5838 Ext. 84666
fuzzycop@coppedalers.com
Kansas (NHTSA Region VII)
Jeffrey L. Eubank
Emporia Police Department
518 Mechanic
Emporia, KS 66801
(620) 342-1766
(620) 343-4228 (Fax)
jleubie@yahoo.com
Michigan (NHTSA Region V)
Kathleen Vonk
Ann Arbor Police Department
100 N. Fifth Ave.
Ann Arbor MI 48104
(734) 994-2875 (Work)
(734) 260-2981 (Cell)
kathyvonk@aol.com
 
top  
Missouri (NHTSA Region VII)
P.O. Scott Brown
St. Louis County Police Department
Fenton Precinct
625 New Smizer Mill Road
Fenton, MO 63026
(636) 349-8120
(636) 343-4732 (Fax)
SBrown2@stlouisco.com
Patn67@aol.com
Missouri
Colby Lalli
Blue Springs Police Department
1100 SW Smith
Blue Springs, MO 64015-3649
(816) 228-0178 (Work)
(816) 228-0243 (Fax)
(816) 935-2664 (Mobile)
clalli@bluespringsgov.com
Missouri
Monte L. May
Kansas City, Missouri Police Department
1200 Linwood Blvd.
Kansas City, Missouri ZIP?
(816) 719-8006
(816) 759-6307 (Fax)
Montemay@earthlink.net
New York (NHTSA Region II)
Shawn J. Barry
City of Beacon Police Department
# 1 Municipal Plaza, Suite # 3
Beacon, NY 12589
(845) 831-4111
(845) 838-5073 (Fax)
barryfifty@aol.com
New York
Officer Robert Light
UPD Plattsburgh
101 Broad St.
Plattsburg, NY 12901
(518) 564-2022 (Work)
robert.light@plattsburgh.edu
New York
Mark Phillips
New York State Police
200 Southern Blvd.
Albany, New York 12201
(518) 471-5065
(518) 422-0958 (Pager)
MPhillip@troopers.state.ny.us
Oregon (NHTSA Region X)
Sgt. Dave Teem
Newport Police Department
169 SW Coast Hwy.
Newport, OR 97365
(541) 574-0637 (Work)
(541) 574-0643 (Fax)
d.teem@newportpolice.net
Pennsylvania (NHTSA Region III)
Robert DeLaurentiis
University of Pennsylvania Police Dept.
3914 Locust Walk
Philadelphia, PA 19104
(267) 577-6737 (Cell)
(215) 898-0306 (Fax)
delaurents@aol.com
Texas (NHTSA Region VI)
Marc C. Hodges
Denton Police Department
601 E. Hickory Street, Suite E
Denton, TX 76205
(940) 349-8181 (Work)
(940) 349-7966 (Fax)
(940) 391-8637 (Cell)
Marc.Hodges@cityofdenton.com
Texas
Detective Robert Taylor
Alvin Police Department
1500 S. Gordon
Alvin, Texas 77511
(281) 388-4370 (Work)
(281) 585-7174 (Direct)
Rtaylor@apd.cityofalvin.com
www.alvinpolice.com
Utah (NHTSA Region VIII)
Mike Johnston
University of Utah
1735 E. South Campus Dr.
Salt Lake City, Utah 84112-3010
(801) 584-1736 (Work)
(801) 584-1770 (Fax)
mikebikeut@hotmail.com
Washington (NHTSA Region X)
Nathan Spiering
Spokane Police Department
1100 W. Mallon
Spokane, WA 99260
(509)625-4289 Ext. 10560 (Work)
(509) 251-0944 (Cell)
(509) 835-4596 (Fax)
nspiering@hotmail.com
JWalker@spokanepolice.org
West Virginia (NHTSA Region III)
Phil Redford
Wheeling Police Department
1500 Chapline Street
Wheeling, WV 26003
(304) 234-3756
(304) 650-0894 (Cell)
(304) 234-3788 (Fax)
predford@wocema.com
Wisconsin (NHTSA Region V)
Stacey Vilas
Madison Police Department
211 S. Caroll St.
Madison, WI 53703
(608) 261-9687 (Work)
svilas@ci.madison.wi.us
top  
   
NHTSA Contact
Paula Bawer, RN, MA
NHTSA/Safety Counter Measures,
NTI-121
400 7th Street SW Room 5130
Washington, DC 20590
(202) 366-2692
(202) 366-7721 (Fax)
paula.bawer@nhtsa.dot.gov
 
 


next page -- Conclusion >>