bicyclinginfo.org


community problems
& solutions
bicycling crashes
outreach & promotion
education & enforcement
policy & planning
design & engineering
rails and trails
transit
research & development
health & fitness
news & events
digital library



search
map
contact
links
about the center


copyright statement
privacy statement
web development team

walkinginfo.org



news and events

Updates on bicycling events and conferences

digital library
Download research, images, articles and more

the experts speak
Your favorite experts share their knowledge and answer questions


back to main page

The PBIC has established a National Review Group, comprising more than 30 transportation, health, and advocacy leaders to provide input, advice, and feedback on the goals and objectives of the center.

The current list of members includes:

Lisa Aultman-Hall, University of Kentucky, Department of Civil Engineering
Raymond 161 Lexington, KY 40506-0281
aultman@engr.uky.edu

Tom Brahms, Institute of Transportation Engineers
525 School St., SW, Ste 410 Washington, DC 20024-2797
tbrahms@ite.org

Lois Chaplin, Cornell University
326 Riley Robb Hall Ithaca, NY 14853
Lec4@Cornell.edu

John Ciccarelli, Bicycle Solutions
2065 Yale St. Palo Alto, CA 94306-1423
johnc@bicyclesolutions.com

Amy Coggin, American Public Transit Association
1201 New York Avenue Washington, DC 20005
acoggin@apta.com

James Corless, Surface Transportation Policy Project 26 O'Farrell St., Ste 400 San Francisco, CA 94108
jcorless@transact.org

Lars Ekman, Dept. of Traffic Planning and Engineering, Lund Institute of Technology
Lund University Lund, Sweden
Lars.Ekman@tft.lth.se

Steve Emmett-Mattox, Trails & Greenways Clearinghouse
1100 17th St., NW, 10th Floor Washington, DC 20036
rtesteve@transact.org

Richard Mark Fenton, Editor at Large, Walking Magazine
25 Crescent Ave. Scituate, MA 02066
fenton@walkingmag.com

Ollie Hatch, Conference Director; European Cyclist Federation
31 Arodene Road London, England SW2 2BQ
oh@velo-city.org

Rich Killingsworth, Health Scientist, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention 4770 Buford Highway, Mailstop K46 Atlanta, GA 30341
rek3@cdc.gov

Ken Kobetsky, AASHTO
444 North Capitol St., Ste 225 Washington, DC 20001
kenk@aashto.org

Scott Leonard, National Association of Railroad Passengers
900 Second St., NE, Ste 308 Washington, DC 20002
s.leonard@narprail.org

Dale Marsico, Community Transportation Assoc. of America
1341 G Street, NW, Ste 600 Washington, DC 20005
marsico@ctaa.org

Julie Mercer Matlick, Washington DOT
P.O. Box 47393 Olympia, WA 98504
Matlicj@wsdot.wa.gov

Phil Miller, APBP/Alta Transportation Consulting
6519 152nd. Ave. NE Redmond, WA 98052
alta.seattle@gte.net

Peter Moe, National Center for Bicycling & Walking
1506 2lst Street, NW, Suite 200 Washington, DC 20036
pete@bikefed.org

John M. Moffat, Director, Traffic Safety Commission
1000 S. Cherry, P.O. Box 40944 Olympia, WA 98504-0944
jmoffat@wtsc.wa.gov

Randy Neufeld, Thunderhead Alliance c/o Chicagoland Bicycle Federation
417 S. Dearborn, Rm 1000 Chicago, IL 60605-1120
Randy@chibikefed.org

Jody Newman, League of American Bicyclists
1612 K Street, NW, Ste 401 Washington, DC 20006
Jody@bikeleague.org

Gay Page, Bicycle/Pedestrian Program Manager, Colorado DOT
4201 E. Arkansas Ave., Rm 212 Denver, CO 80222
Gay.page@dot.state.co.us

Nelson Pena, Publisher, Bicycling Magazine; Rodale Press
33 East Minor St. Emmaus, PA 18049
nelson.pena@rodale.com

Theo Petritsch, State Pedestrian & Bicycle Coordinator, FL DOT Safety Office
605 Suwannee St., MS-82 Tallahassee, FL 32399
Theo.petritsch@dot.state.fl.us

Cindy Porteous, National Association of Governor's Councils on Physical Fitness and Sports
201 S. Capitol Ave, Ste 560 Indianapolis, IN 46225
Govcouncil@aol.com

Jean-Francois Pronovost, Executive Director; Velo Quebec
1251 Rachel St. East Montreal, Quebec, Canada H2J 2J9
jf_pronovost@velo.qc.ca

Kyran Quinlan, National Centers for Injury Prevention & Control
Division of Unintentional Injury Prevention
4770 Buford Hwy., NE, Mailstop K63 Atlanta, GA 30341-3724
kaq0@cdc.gov

Kevin St. Jacques, Wilbur Smith Associates,(representing ASCE HPT Committee)
4925 Greenville Ave., Ste 915 Dallas, TX 75206
kevins@wilbursmith.com

Lois Thibault, US Access Board
1331 F Street, NW, Ste 1000 Washington, DC 20004
thibault@access-board.gov

Harold Thompson, Partnership for a Walkable America, National Safety Council
1121 Spring Lake Drive Itasca, IL 60143-3201
thompson@asc.org

JoAnne Pruitt Thunder, Ped/Bike Safety Program Manager; Wisconsin DOT
Bureau of Transportation Safety, Rm 809
4802 Sheboygan Ave., P.O. Box 7936 Madison, WI 53707-7936
joanne.pruitt-thunder@dot.state.wi.us

Ellen Vanderslice, Project Manager; Portland Pedestrian Transportation
1120 SW Fifth Ave., Rm 802 Portland, OR 97204-1971
ellenv@hevanet.com

Dorothy Verkerk, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
12 Oakwood Dr. Chapel Hill, NC 27514
dverkerk@email.unc.edu

Karen Votava, East Coast Greenway Alliance
135 Main Street Wakefield, RI 02879
kvotava935@aol.com

Diane Winn, University of California Irvine
Pediatric Injury Prevention Research Group Health Policy & Research
3255 Berkeley Place Irvine, CA 92697-5800
dgwinn@uci.edu





Feature:  CAR CULTURE:
How America got hooked by little bugs and monster trucks--and everything in between-- and why it's time to park our automobile obsession.


Since the days of the Model T, cars have always been vehicles for dozens of things other than their intended purpose. We can't deny it- we are a nation in love with our cars. Can we still love our cars- and rely on them less? O, LeCar! O ye Gremlins and Pintos, ye Foxes and Thunderbirds and Mustangs! How we love thee! Let us Probe the depths of our national obsession to the very Maxima! For you represent all that is American and Continental, from sea to shining sea, from Metro to Suburban, Dakota to Tahoe to Malibu...Wherever Yugo, there go we!!!!
go to article


community problems and solutions
Determine how bicyclable your community is, envision how bicyclable it can be-and find workable solutions.

bicyclist crashes
From the crucial factors to accident prevention to crash stats.

outreach and promotion
Initiate change and create awareness about the public health and transportation benefits of bicycling.

education and enforcement
Make an issue out of bicyclist safety through community awareness, and programs targeting youth and older adults. Enforce rules of the road for bicyclists and motorists.

policy and planning
Is bicycling a part of your city's plan? Learn where policy is working, what makes a good bicyclist plan, and where to get funding. Realize the ways that bicycling neighborhoods build better neighborhoods.

Feature: CAR CULTURE: How America got hooked by little bugs and monster trucks--and everything in between-- and why it's time to park our automobile obsession.

Feature: Coming soon...Suburban Sprawl

health and fitness
Walk for your life--whether you're 8 or 88, discover how bicycling can enrich your physical and mental health.

design and engineering
Dig into bicycling design elements and issues. Engineer solutions and strategies towards better bicyclability for everyone.

rails and trails
Convert an old rail or canal towpath into a new pedestrian trail.

Feature: Coming soon...Bill Chipman Palouse Trail

transit
Find out where public transit is thriving and why; plan to successfully combine bicycling and public transportation in your community